Message from the President


Dear Members and Friends,

A chamber of commerce is a form of business network, a local organization of businesses whose goal is to further the interests of business and the economy. Business owners in towns and cities form these local societies to advocate on behalf of the business community. Local businesses are members, and they elect a board of directors to set policy for the chamber. The board then hires a President, plus staffing appropriate to size, to run the organization.

A chamber of commerce is a 501(c)(6) organization, is not a governmental body or institution, and has no direct role in the writing and passage of laws and regulations that affect businesses. It may however, act as a lobby in an attempt to get laws passed that are favorable to businesses. Chambers operate independently of one another, and at times partner together for various types of programs.

Businesses reap the benefits of joining chambers of commerce, however, beyond the many networking opportunities, there are ways a chamber can help your business grow and thrive.

For the small cost of a chamber membership, businesses have access to other businesspeople in the community. Chambers also address and serve the needs of the business community through professional development and advocacy matters.

The Southern Chester County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, staff and membership follow our Vision, Mission and Core Values as stated below. We are proud of our Chamber and members, and we look forward to working together for mutual success.

The Southern Chester County Chamber of Commerce serves as a recognized leader for business advocacy. Our members represent the region’s influential business leaders and professionals; entrepreneurs; managers; mid and small business owners; young professionals; media personalities; educators; and political figures.

The Southern Chester County Chamber of Commerce seeks to strengthen, support and promote business and economic development in the southern Chester County region. Through growth and development of its membership, relevant and timely programming and educational opportunities, the SCCCC provides a means for communication among appointed and elected officials and regional business leaders, and fosters community spirit.

Lead     Connect    Educate    Advocate

Best regards,

Your success truly is our business.



Cheryl B. Kuhn, IOM
President & CEO